Oregon Sick Leave

Oregon Sick Leave

Oregon's new statewide Sick Leave Law goes into effect January 1, 2016.

Oregon's Sick Leave Law will require employers, including out-of-state employers, with ten (10) or more employees, to provide employees with up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year, accruing at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked in Oregon. Employers with fewer than 10 employees will be required to provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave per year to employees working in Oregon.

Provided, however, for those employers, located anywhere, who have employee(s) working in the City of Portland, you are required to provide paid sick leave if you have six (6) or more total employees and unpaid sick leave if you have fewer than six (6) total employees, both accruing based on the number of hours worked in the City of Portland.

A quarterly accounting of the amount of accrued and unused sick time will be required. Employer's quarterly state payroll reports, which list each employee's quarterly work hours, can be used as the baseline for the Sick Leave quarterly accounting, if you do not use a payroll vendor or if your payroll vendor cannot accommodate this quarterly requirement.