Oregon Minimum Wage Update

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2016, Oregon's minimum wage is going to increase. The new minimum wage law creates three (3) minimum wage rates that vary depending on where an employer is located**: (1) a base minimum wage for the entire state; (2) an increased minimum wage for "urban" counties; and (3) a lower minimum wage for (currently) 18 "nonurban" counties.

**Oregon's Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) has yet to define employer location. Thus, for employers with offices in more than one geographic wage rate area, stay tuned.

Base Minimum Rate For Entire State

The base minimum wage for the entire state, unless otherwise permitted by law, shall be as follows:

  • From July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017, $9.75
  • From July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018, $10.25
  • From July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, $10.75
  • From July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020, $11.25
  • From July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021, $12
  • From July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022, $12.75
  • From July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023, $13.50
  • After June 30, 2023, beginning on July 1 of each year, a rate adjusted for inflation annually by BOLI

Urban Counties

For "urban" employers, yet to be defined by BOLI, but currently including employers located in Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington Counties, unless otherwise permitted by law, the minimum wage shall be as follows:

  • From July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017, $9.75
  • From July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018, $11.25
  • From July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, $12
  • From July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020, $12.50
  • From July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021, $13.25
  • From July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022, $14
  • From July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023, $14.75
  • After June 30, 2023, an urban county employer shall pay an employee no less than $1.25 per hour more than the minimum wage determined under the annual statewide adjustment for inflation

Nonurban Counties

For employers located in "nonurban" counties (currently, Baker, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, and Wheeler), unless otherwise permitted by law, the minimum wage shall be as follows:

  • From July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017, $9.50
  • From July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018, $10
  • From July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, $10.50
  • From July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020, $11
  • From July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021, $11.50
  • From July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022, $12
  • From July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023, $12.50
  • After June 30, 2023, a nonurban county employer shall pay an employee no less than $1 per hour less than the minimum wage determined under the annual statewide adjustment for inflation

Questions

If you have questions, please contact our office.